Nominations for 2014 Fundamental Physics Prize

Click here for a printer-friendly version of this page.

Posted on: Sep 8, 2013

Nominations will be accepted through October 15, 2013.

The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation announces today the opening of online nomination website for its 2014 prizes. The rules and nomination form are available to the public at Anyone can nominate a candidate online and all submissions must be completed by a third party.

Nominations will be accepted through October 15, 2013.

The Foundation’s Selection Committee, which is composed of prior recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize, will choose three winners of the Physics Frontiers Prize from among the nominees, and up to three winners of the New Horizons in Physics Prize. Those winners will be announced in November 2013.

The following scientists comprise the Selection Committee for the 2014 prizes:

Nima Arkani-Hamed
Lyn Evans
Fabiola Gianotti
Alan Guth
Stephen Hawking
Joseph Incandela
Alexei Kitaev
Maxim Kontsevich
Andrei Linde
Juan Maldacena
Alexander Polyakov
Nathan Seiberg
Ashoke Sen
Edward Witten

The ultimate winner of the 2014 $3 million Fundamental Physics Prize will be chosen from the three Physics Frontiers Prize laureates. The remaining Physics Frontiers Prize laureates will receive a prize of $300,000 and will automatically be re-nominated for the Fundamental Physics Prize each year for the next 5 years.

All prizes will be awarded for achievements in the field of fundamental physics, with special attention to recent developments. The Fundamental Physics Prize and the Physics Frontiers Prize recognize transformative advances in the field, while the New Horizons in Physics Prize is targeted at promising junior researchers and is worth $100,000.

For additional inquiries, contact:
About the Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation

The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation established by the Milner Foundation and dedicated to advancing our knowledge of the Universe at the deepest level by awarding annual prizes for scientific breakthroughs, as well as communicating the excitement of fundamental physics to the public. According to the Foundation’s rules, laureates of all prizes are chosen by a Selection Committee, which is comprised of prior recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize.

Information on the Fundamental Physics Prize is available at:

< Back to more news

News Story Origin and Copyright: FPP
Click here for the original news release.