Nobel Prize and Bruce Medal Info

2020 Nobel Prize Winners

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 with one half to

Roger Penrose
University of Oxford, UK

“for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity”

and the other half jointly to

Reinhard Genzel
Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, Germany and University of California, Berkeley, USA


Andrea Ghez
University of California, Los Angeles, USA

“for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy"

more info

The Bruce Medal Prize

The 2020 Bruce Medal has been suspended due to COVID-19.

  • The Bruce Medalists
    Brief biographies of astronomers awarded the Bruce medal of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, many with portraits.